Skip main navigation
We use cookies to give you a better experience, if that’s ok you can close this message and carry on browsing. For more info read our cookies policy.
We use cookies to give you a better experience. Carry on browsing if you're happy with this, or read our cookies policy for more information.

The Arabic script

We will look in more detail at the written Arabic script and calligraphy in this section. To those who are not familiar with the Arabic language, the following is a brief introduction to the Arabic language and script:

  • Arabic is a Semitic language written from right to left.
  • The Arabic alphabet has 28 letters. There are 17 different letter forms, and the remaining letters are distinguished by adding diacritical marks in the form of dots above or below these letter forms.
  • The letter forms change according to their position in the word, taking different forms at the beginning, middle and end of the word.

Share this article:

This article is from the free online course:

The Birmingham Qur'an: Its Journey from the Islamic Heartlands

University of Birmingham

Contact FutureLearn for Support