Want to keep learning?

This content is taken from the Coventry University's online course, Business Continuity Management and Crisis Management: An Introduction. Join the course to learn more.

Plan Do Check Act (PDCA)

The PDCA or Deming Cycle is the most frequently used approach to management.

The approach is central to many, if not all, ISO management systems standards including BS EN ISO 22301:2014 for Business Continuity Management (BCM).

PDCA takes an iteratively cycling approach to managing improvement in organisations and has been applied to quality, environment and health and safety (among many others).

PDCA figure, Select the image to expand a pdf version that contains alternative text. The pdf is also available in the downloads section.

Your task

Policy is a key part of management systems including BCM. Carry out a quick investigation to answer the following question.

Where do you think policy fits in the four-stage PDCA model?

Further reading

For further information on the importance of business continuity standards, read the following from Price Waterhouse Cooper:

Price Waterhouse Cooper (ND) ISO 22301 Business Continuity – Isn’t it Already Covered by the Other Standards? [online] available from https://auditortraining.pwc.com.au/iso-22301-business-continuity-isnt-already-covered-standards/ [07 May 2019]

Share this article:

This article is from the free online course:

Business Continuity Management and Crisis Management: An Introduction

Coventry University