Want to keep learning?

This content is taken from the UEA (University of East Anglia)'s online course, Clinical Supervision with Confidence. Join the course to learn more.

Skip to 0 minutes and 3 secondsThere are several models of clinical supervision.

Skip to 0 minutes and 9 secondsOne commonly used model, based on learning theory, suggests that within the supervision journey learners move continually through four stages of competence, progressing gradually from unconscious incompetence to conscious incompetence, conscious competence, and finally to unconscious competence.

Skip to 0 minutes and 38 secondsThe role of the supervisor is to enable a trainee to move through these four stages safely and with support, so that they're learning progresses effectively until they become fully competent.

The supervision journey

Please watch this video of the supervision journey, a model based on learning theory.

What are you views on this model? Can you relate it to your trainees’ learning?

Tell us what stage you think you are at in terms of your role as clinical supervisor.

Share this video:

This video is from the free online course:

Clinical Supervision with Confidence

UEA (University of East Anglia)

Get a taste of this course

Find out what this course is like by previewing some of the course steps before you join: