Want to keep learning?

This content is taken from the Manchester Metropolitan University, The University of Manchester & MAHSE's online course, Understanding Innovation in the Healthcare Sciences. Join the course to learn more.
Stakeholder network on a computer screen

Identifying your stakeholders

Who are the stakeholders in your innovation?

Identifying all your stakeholders can be a challenging task, and a helpful tool has been developed by NHS England, called the ‘9Cs’. The 9Cs model is to ensure you identify and include all your stakeholders. Not all may be directly applicable to all specialities, or may need further definition but this is an excellent starting point.

The 9Cs are:

Commissioners: those who pay the healthcare provider to offer the service (Funders, we will look more closely at funding support in Week 2)

Customers: those who use your services to provide healthcare (for example Clinical Commissioning Groups in the UK or Healthcare Insurers internationally)

Collaborators: those with whom the service or organisation works to deliver its service. (Professional support services. Your innovation may lead to changes for admin arrangements, patient/sample booking, transportation arrangements etc)

Contributors: those from whom the organisation acquire content for its products

Channels: those who provide the organisation with a route to the customer

Commentators: those whose opinions of the organisation are heard by customers and others. In the UK these could include Regulatory services, such as Care Quality Commission (CQC) and UK Accreditation Services (UKAS). Other speciality specific bodies applicable to your healthcare system should also be considered.

Consumers: those who are served by our customers (Remember though this may be the patient, carers and other healthcare professionals, for example clinicians, family doctors, nursing staff and other healthcare scientists).

Champions: those who believe in and will actively promote the project (Heads of Departments and local colleagues)

Competitors: those working in the same area who offer similar or alternative services.

In the UK you will also need to consider Governmental Regulatory bodies and acts of Parliament, such as the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority (HFEA), Health Research Authority (HRA), Human Tissue Authority (HTA). Consideration should also be given to Professional, statutory and regulatory bodies, particularly those with a function in regulating your practice. Outside of the UK there will be similar organisations and political considerations.

Share this article:

This article is from the free online course:

Understanding Innovation in the Healthcare Sciences

Manchester Metropolitan University

Get a taste of this course

Find out what this course is like by previewing some of the course steps before you join: