Skip main navigation

SAE J3016 levels of driving automation

The J3016 is the most important standard for automated vehicles now. In this article, Prof. Ching-Fu Lin discusses it.
SAE J3016 Levels of Driving Automation
© 2023 SAE International
Automated vehicles utilize advanced technologies like radar, wireless communication, and blind spot detection to ensure safety and efficiency on the road. They operate based on a three-step process: Sense, Perceive, and Act.

6 Levels of Driving Automation (J3016)

  • Level 0: No automation; driver handles all tasks.
  • Level 1: Limited assistance; either steering OR acceleration/braking. Examples: adaptive cruise control or lane departure warning.
  • Level 2: Advanced assistance; handles steering AND acceleration/braking but requires driver oversight. Most common in the current market.
  • Level 3: Conditional automation; can perform all driving tasks in specific conditions, e.g., on highways. Drivers may need to take control.
  • Level 4: High automation; operates without driver input in certain conditions or predefined areas.
  • Level 5: Full automation; operates independently in any situation, no human intervention required.

Understanding the levels of automation is crucial for discerning the capabilities and limitations of autonomous vehicles, ensuring safety, and clarifying driver responsibilities

© Ching-Fu Lin and NTHU, proofread by ChatGPT
This article is from the free online

AI Ethics, Law, and Policy

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now