Skip main navigation

Announcing the winner of the James Tait Black Prize for Fiction

Find out who has won the James Tait Black Prize for Fiction for 2023.
On August 25th, 2021 16:15PM BST Sally Magnusson will be joined by judge Dr Benjamin Bateman to announce the winner of the James Tait Black Prize for Fiction for 2021 at the Edinburgh International Book Festival. You are welcome to sign-up to view or return to this step after the date to find out who is the winner of this year’s prize.

Judged by staff and students at the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures, University of Edinburgh, The James Tait Black Prizes are awarded annually for the best work of fiction and the best biography published in the previous year, and have been presented every year since 1919.

Please note the winner will not be announced until the above date. We will share the announcement video when it is publicly available.

This article is from the free online

How to Read a Novel

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now