Skip main navigation

Bony Fish

Bony fish are in the Class Osteichthyes and have a wide range of adaptations that make them highly suitable for life below water.

Our next group of marine vertebrates are from the Class Osteichthyes and consist of the bony fish. Consisting of two subclasses, Actinopterygii – the Ray-finned fish, and Sarcopterygii – the Lobe-finned fish, consisting of over 28,000 species. 99% of all fish species belong to this order.

They can be found in marine and fresh water and have a range of characteristics that are adapted to life below water. These consist of: jaws with teeth, a bony skeleton, paired fins and gills covered by operculum, skin covered with scales, a swim bladder for buoyancy control, a homocercal tail (both top and bottom can be the same size), and a lateral line.

Can you think of a famous bony fish? Pop your answer in the chat below.

This article is from the free online

Life Below Water: Conservation, Current Issues, Possible Solutions

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now