Skip main navigation

Cultural Note

Read the article to learn the Chinese culture.
Clap for yourself! We hope that you have been enjoying the learning journey this week, and you’re more welcomed to share your learning experience with us in the Comments.

Now it’s time for fun and relaxing. Let’s read the following story and learn about the 12 Chinese zodiac animals.

Chinese zodiac animals

_The Chinese zodiac, known as 生肖(ShēngXiāo) or 属相(ShǔXiàng), features 12 animal signs in this order: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig.

Chinese New Year’s Day changes every year in the western calendar. There are 12 zodiac signs represented by animals, and every year there is a different one. After twelve years, the cycle repeats itself.

The 12 Chinese zodiac animals in a cycle are not only used to represent years in China, but also believed to influence people’s personalities, career, compatibility, marriage, and fortune.

Enjoy your time and see you next week!

This article is from the free online

YCT Standard Course Level 1: Part B

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now