Université Libre de Bruxelles

The Université Libre de Bruxelles campus


The Université Libre de Bruxelles, founded in 1834, has 13 faculties, schools and specialized institutes that cover all disciplines, closely combining academic input and research. It offers almost 40 undergraduate programmes and 235 graduate programmes. It also partners 20 Doctoral schools, with almost 1,600 PhDs in progress. Five scientific Nobel Prizes, one Fields Medal, three Wolf Prizes and two Marie Curie Prizes are further evidence of the University’s longstanding tradition of excellence.

As a multicultural university with one third of students and researchers from abroad, international relations is a daily reality for the Université Libre de Bruxelles, just like the city of Brussels itself, one of the world’s most cosmopolitan cities. With numerous techno-pedagogical and scientific experiences in the field of e-learning and audiovisual production, the ULB aims to gradually present several online courses in the fields of humanities, social sciences as well as exact and natural sciences in addition to life sciences and health. The production of these free online courses is in line with its policy of social emancipation and the open access of knowledge to all. It is also inscribed in the desire to support its teaching and academic pedagogy through appropriate and innovative technological tools, as well as action research on the practices of its teachers and learners.