Commonwealth Secretariat

Two girls standing in front of a map


The Commonwealth is made up of 54 independent countries that work together to pursue common goals which promote development, democracy and peace. The Commonwealth’s values and principles are enshrined in the Commonwealth Charter.

The Commonwealth’s combined population is 2.4 billion, of which more than 60 per cent is aged 29 or under and includes both advanced economies and developing countries. Thirty-two members are small states, including many island nations.

Commonwealth Secretariat – the main intergovernmental agency of the association – supports member countries to achieve development, democracy and peace. The Secretariat’s work helps to grow economies and boost trade, empower young people, and address threats such as climate change, debt and inequality.

Established in 1965, the Secretariat has been recognised as a voice for small and vulnerable states, a champion for young people and a global leader in the sport for development and peace sector.

Since 2013, the Secretariat has been supporting member countries to develop policies and strategies to maximise the contribution of sport to national development objectives and the Sustainable Development Goals.