Skip main navigation

Korean currency

Korean currency
Korean currency
We’re also going to study about Korean currency.

Korean currency is called ‘원(Won)’. Korean coins and bills are divided as follows. Of these, 1원 to 500원 are coins and 1,000 원 to 50,000원 are bills.

Here’s how to read this:

Coins 1원 5원 10원
KOREAN 일 원 오 원 십 원
Coins 50원 100원 500원
KOREAN 오십 원 백 원 오백 원
Bills 1,000원 5,000원 10,000원 50,000원
KOREAN 천 원 오천 원 만 원 오만 원

This article is from the free online

Introduction to Korean 2

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now