Skip main navigation

A Combined Responsibility

© Torrens University

Traditional IT models relied on an approach that security is the sole responsibility of the organisation however, in cloud computing services, security is a combined responsibility.

Cloud providers handle and treat risks through a shared responsibility model. The amount of shared responsibility is defined by the category of cloud and services provided. There are seven security areas shared between the cloud provider and client.

This means both the client and the service provider should take responsibility. Depending on the services and deployment models that clients use, their responsibility might be more or less than the provider. We summarise the shared responsibility model in the following table.

Shared Responsibility Chart

© Torrens University
This article is from the free online

Introduction to Digital Transformation: Understand and Manage Digital Transformation in the Workplace

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Our purpose is to transform access to education.

We offer a diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world. These are delivered one step at a time, and are accessible on mobile, tablet and desktop, so you can fit learning around your life.

We believe learning should be an enjoyable, social experience, so our courses offer the opportunity to discuss what you’re learning with others as you go, helping you make fresh discoveries and form new ideas.
You can unlock new opportunities with unlimited access to hundreds of online short courses for a year by subscribing to our Unlimited package. Build your knowledge with top universities and organisations.

Learn more about how FutureLearn is transforming access to education