Skip main navigation

Defining visual impairment

Providing an agreed definition of visual impairment.

In order to understand the epidemiology of visual impairment we need to use an agreed definition of visual acuity. This will allow us to compare studies from different locations and also measure impact. In this step we look at the World Health Organization’s (WHO) classification of visual impairment, which will be used throughout the course. How can this classification be applied to your own work?

Visual acuity conversion chart

Throughout the course we use the Snellen (metre) measurement of visual acuity. In other contexts Decimal or LogMAR measurement systems are preferred. The chart shown below allows you to convert from one system to another.

Visual acuity conversion chart

This article is from the free online

Global Blindness: Planning and Managing Eye Care Services

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now