Skip main navigation

£199.99 £139.99 for one year of Unlimited learning. Offer ends on 28 February 2023 at 23:59 (UTC). T&Cs apply

Find out more

Chinese characters

Chinese characters are made up of strokes, just as English words are made up of letters. Today we will learn five basic strokes.

Five basic strokes: horizontal, vertical, left-falling, right-falling and dot.

The first stroke, horizontal, in Chinese it is called 横 héng. When writing 横, you should write from left to right.

The second stroke, vertical, in Chinese it is called 竖 shù. When writing 竖, you should write from top to bottom.

The third stroke, left-falling. In Chinese it is called 撇 piě. When writing it, you should write from the top to the bottom left.

The fourth stroke, right-falling. In Chinese it is called 捺 nà. When writing this stroke, you should write from the top to the bottom right.

The last stroke for today. It is dot. In Chinese it is called 点 diǎn.

This article is from the free online

HSK Standard Course Level 1: 1.1

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Our purpose is to transform access to education.

We offer a diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world. These are delivered one step at a time, and are accessible on mobile, tablet and desktop, so you can fit learning around your life.

We believe learning should be an enjoyable, social experience, so our courses offer the opportunity to discuss what you’re learning with others as you go, helping you make fresh discoveries and form new ideas.
You can unlock new opportunities with unlimited access to hundreds of online short courses for a year by subscribing to our Unlimited package. Build your knowledge with top universities and organisations.

Learn more about how FutureLearn is transforming access to education