Skip main navigation

New offer! Get 30% off one whole year of Unlimited learning. Subscribe for just £249.99 £174.99. New subscribers only. T&Cs apply

Find out more

ASEAN Region and Its Diversity

This is the map of ASEAN region.
Asean Region And Its Diversity
© Freepik
There are 10 nations in the ASEAN region. Myanmar, Cambodia, Thailand, Laos and Vietnam are located in mainland Southeast Asia, whereas Malaysia, Brunei, Singapore, Indonesia, and the Philippines are in the maritime region.

Formed in 1967, the ASEAN region contains rich cultural diversity and a strong emerging economy. The year 2015 heralded a new chapter in the regions history with the formalization of the political security, economic, and socio-cultural communities, all of which aim to bring the nations closer together to achieve sustained peace, a thriving single market, and a common identity. The region’s population, trade, GDP per capita and life expectancy (see infographic) have all shown significant improvement since its formation.

50 years of ASEAN

Our discussion in this course will focus on ASEAN as a region (vs. as an organization). The nations of the ASEAN region are interconnected through a shared history and culture, as well as other common factors such as the tropical weather and rice cultivation.

© Universiti Malaya
This article is from the free online

Multiculturalism In ASEAN

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now