Skip main navigation

Food groups

Using the Australian NHMRC Five Food Group system as a reference, watch Jacqui explain how foods are grouped to create practical, food-based guides.

After watching this video you should be able to explain how the nutrient recommendations are translated into practical food-based guides as illustrated in the Australian NHMRC Five Food Group system.

As an additional resource you can refer to the following tables:

  • Table 1: Nutritional Characteristics of the NHMRC Five Food Groups (Australia) – page 7 of the Eat for Health Educator Guide
  • Table 9: Average kilojoule content for one serve of the Five Food Groups, allowances and discretionary choices – page 28-29 of the Eat for Health Educator Guide
This article is from the free online

Nutrition in the Health Sector

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now