Skip main navigation

New offer! Get 30% off one whole year of Unlimited learning. Subscribe for just £249.99 £174.99. New subscribers only. T&Cs apply

Find out more

The Immune System


The immune system is a host defense network comprising many biological structures and processes within an organism that protects against disease. There are two types of immunogenicity in therapeutic biologics development process: wanted immunogenicity and unwanted immunogenicity. Immunogenicity is a clinically critical criterion when selecting a biologic.

The immune system is briefly summarized. The cells of the immune system can be categorized as lymphocytes (T-cells, B-cells, and NK cells), neutrophils, and monocytes/macrophages. T cells (thymus cells) and B cells (bone marrow- or bursa-derived cells) are the major cellular components of the adaptive immune response. T cells are involved in cell-mediated immunity, whereas B cells are primarily responsible for humoral immunity. T cells originate from bone marrow and mature in the thymus, comprising helper T cells, suppressor T cells, Cytotoxic T cells, Memory T cells, and Natural Killer T cells

This article is from the free online

Pharmacotherapy: Understanding Biotechnology Products

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now