Skip main navigation

Different tones in the Chinese language

learn chinese

As mentioned before, tones are an important aspect of the Chinese sound system because they help distinguish the meanings of words. There are four tones in Standard Chinese each with a specific pitch pattern. It is almost like every syllable in Chinese has a fixed “intonation” of itself.

Other than the four tones, there is also the neutral tone which is pronounced lighter and shorter, and it has no tone mark. General rules for marking tones in Hanyu Pinyin will be explained in step 1.19.

Different tones in Chinese language

Malaysian Chinese Features:

Some words, especially the ones with the first tone, are pronounced with different tones in Malaysian Chinese. For example, “吃 chī” (eat) is often pronounced with the fourth tone “cì” rather than the first tone as in standard Chinese. Another example would be the common word “发财 fācái” (get rich) being pronounced as “fàcái”.

This article is from the free online

Unlocking the Secrets of the Chinese Language

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now