Skip main navigation

New offer! Get 30% off one whole year of Unlimited learning. Subscribe for just £249.99 £174.99. New subscribers only. T&Cs apply

Find out more

Not only pets transmit rabies

Three epidemiological types of rabies

In this video, Esperanza Gomez-Lucia explains that there are three main types of rabies from the epidemiological point of view:

  • Urban rabies: transmitted mostly by dogs, but also by cats
  • Sylvatic rabies: transmitted by terrestrial wildlife, such as foxes, raccoons, etc.
  • Bat rabies: transmitted either by insect- or fruit-eating bats or by blood-sucking bats.

To learn the outcome of the 2015 rabies case we introduced in Step 3.4, see the link at the bottom of this step.

Have your say:

This video contains a lot of detailed information. Was there anything you found surprising? Share your thoughts in the comments.

This article is from the free online

Animal Viruses: Their Transmission and the Diseases They Produce

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now