Overview of the UK education system

Education systems are different all over the world. Read this article to find out more about the education system in the UK and think about whether this is the same or different from the education system in your country. Tell us in the discussion box below.

You’ll see that the UK education system is broken into:

  • Primary Education: age 5-11

  • Secondary Education: age 11-16

  • Further Education: for 16+

  • Higher Education: university level education

Higher Education goes from undergraduate (e.g. BA Degrees) to doctorate (e.g. PhD). This course is focused on undergraduate courses.

If you want to check your understanding of the article, try this quiz.

Share this article:

This article is from the free online course:

Aim Higher: Access to Higher Education for Refugees and Asylum Seekers

Cambridge Assessment English