Want to keep learning?

This content is taken from the European University Institute (EUI)'s online course, Cultural Diplomacy. Join the course to learn more.

What is a EUNIC Cluster?

Clusters are the collaboration platforms through which EUNIC members (between 3 and 20) operate together. Clusters can operate nationwide or city-wide. A EUNIC cluster represents the whole of EUNIC and not only those members present in a country/location.

EUNIC clusters pool resources, exchange best practice and collaborate with local, national and international organisations to build trust and understanding across cultures. There are currently 105 EUNIC clusters worldwide (in 81 countries), classified in three main groups. EUNIC adopted this classification in 2016, inspired by the European Commission’s approach to working with countries around the world:

  • The EU and its Neighbourhood: comprising neighbouring countries such as Norway as well as EU candidates and potential candidates (see the below link on the European Neighbourhood Policy)

  • EEAS Strategic countries: consisting of the 10 strategic partner countries of the EU as well as other middle-income countries with whom the EU has trade and investment interests, such as Brazil, China, and India

  • DEVCO countries: where the EU provides assistance in terms of development cooperation, including in the area of culture, such as in West African and East African countries.

Clusters have three levels of membership:

Full members: national bodies, or legal bodies of an EU member state which operate with a certain degree of autonomy at the national level, or on behalf of a national level, and are engaged in cultural and related activities beyond their national borders, such as the British Council or the Goethe Institut.

Associate members: organisations which subscribe to the purposes of EUNIC but are not eligible for full membership.

Partners: locally based organisations that work with the clusters in the design and implementation of projects, for example the EU Delegations/ European Commission Representations.

Share this article:

This article is from the free online course:

Cultural Diplomacy

European University Institute (EUI)

Get a taste of this course

Find out what this course is like by previewing some of the course steps before you join: