Skip main navigation

Meet the team

Meat the team
Images of the teaching team
© University of East Anglia

The University of East Anglia team consists of Professor Laura Bowater, Dr Caroline Barker and Professor David Livermore

Professor Laura Bowater

Laura began her career by studying for a BSc in Biochemistry with Microbiology at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, UK. She then moved to the University of Dundee to continue her studies, undertaking an MSc and a PhD in Microbiology and Biochemistry. After a four year career break, Laura worked as a Postdoctoral Research Assistant at the John Innes Centre on the Norwich Research, UK. In 2007 Laura took up an academic post in the Norwich Medical School at the University of East Anglia, where she was promoted to Professor of Microbiology, Education & Engagement in 2016.

Professor David Livermore

David Livermore is Professor of Medical Microbiology at UEA, but with 30% of this time supplied back to Public Health England as its Lead on Antibiotic Resistance.

Dr Caroline Barker

Dr Caroline Barker was an Honorary Senior Lecturer at The Norwich Medical School and a Clinical Medical Microbiologist.

© University of East Anglia
This article is from the free online

Using Infection Control to Combat Antimicrobial Resistance

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Reach your personal and professional goals

Unlock access to hundreds of expert online courses and degrees from top universities and educators to gain accredited qualifications and professional CV-building certificates.

Join over 18 million learners to launch, switch or build upon your career, all at your own pace, across a wide range of topic areas.

Start Learning now