Skip main navigation

Summary and References

References for Build an Outdoor Fitness Training Business
fireworks
© CQUniversity 2021

That brings us to the end of week two!

With the six steps to success you are ready to start your outdoor fitness business!

What did you take away from our week 2 topics?

References

Australian Government. (2019a). Australian Health Survey. Retrieved from https://www.abs.gov.au/australianhealthsurvey
Australian Government. (2019b). Mental Health. Retrieved from https://www.australia.gov.au/information-and-services/health/mental-health
Better Health (2019). The dangers of sitting. Retrieved from https://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/health/healthyliving/the-dangers-of-sitting
Cairns Regional Council. (2019). Active Living Free Fitness. Retrieved from https://www.cairns.qld.gov.au/esplanade/whats-on/active-living
Harris, B, Duggan, M, Batterham, P, Bartlem, K, Clinton-McHarg, T, Dunbar, J, Fehily, C, Lawrence, D, Morgan, M & Rosenbaum, S. (2018). Australia’s Mental Health and Physical Health Tracker. Australian Health Policy Collaboration. Retrieved from http://vuir.vu.edu.au/38748/1/australias-mental-and-physical-health-tracker-background-paper.pdf
Exercise Right. (2019). Mental Health & Exercise. Retrieved from https://exerciseright.com.au/mental-health/
Fitness Australia. (2019). Adult Pre Exercise Screening System. Retrieved from https://fitness.org.au/articles/policies-guidelines/adult-pre-exercise-screening-system/4/18/20
Fitness Australia. (2019a). Council Outdoor Policies. Retrieved from https://fitness.org.au/articles/policies-guidelines/council-outdoor-policies/4/20/20
Fitness Australia. (2019b). Outdoor Training Guidelines. Retrieved from https://bp-fitnessaustralia-production.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/uploaded_file/file/422274/Outdoor-Fitness-Training-Guidelines-updated.pdf
Fitness Australia. (2019c). Business Principles and Guidance. Retrieved from https://fitness.org.au/articles/policies-guidelines/business-principles-and-guidance/4/36/20
Gladwell, V. F., Brown, D. K., Wood, C., Sandercock, G. R., & Barton, J. L. (2013). The great outdoors: how a green exercise environment can benefit all. Extreme physiology & medicine, 2(1), 3. Retrieved from https://extremephysiolmed.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/2046-7648-2-3
Goldsby, M. G., Kuratko, D. F., & Bishop, J. W. (2005). Entrepreneurship and fitness: An examination of rigorous exercise and goal attainment among small business owners. Journal of Small Business Management, 43(1), 78-92. Retrieved from https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1111/j.1540-627X.2004.00126.x?casa_token=9D-0QJHYy0QAAAAA:taBjgUq-K5-7GccnQSbfvRWjEtTe9r80ZsSkwSz8ulaNj1v4PuUgeNcBp_10sGe9hgEhg0X9SWiGCgg1
Hadgraft, N. T., Healy, G. N., Owen, N., Winkler, E. A., Lynch, B. M., Sethi, P., … & Willenberg, L. (2016). Office workers’ objectively assessed total and prolonged sitting time: individual-level correlates and worksite variations. Preventive medicine reports, 4, 184-191. Retrieved from https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2211335516300614
Queensland Government. (2019). What is green exercise and should you be doing it? Retrieved from https://www.health.qld.gov.au/news-events/news/green-exercise-outdoors-nature-physical-mental-health
Sportsrec. (2019). How to Start a Fitness Bootcamp. Retrieved from https://www.sportsrec.com/361986-how-to-start-a-fitness-bootcamp.html
Sunsmart. (2019). Heat Guidelines and Training Outdoors. Retrieved from https://www.sunsmart.com.au/downloads/communities/sports-clubs/uv-exposure-heat-illness-guide.pdf
Teton. (2019). What the Outdoors Does to Your Brain. Retrieved from https://www.tetongravity.com/story/culture/what-the-outdoors-does-to-your-brain
Twohig-Bennett, C., & Jones, A. (2018). The health benefits of the great outdoors: A systematic review and meta-analysis of greenspace exposure and health outcomes. Environmental research, 166, 628-637. Retrieved from https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0013935118303323
University of Essex. (2019). Green Exercise. Retrieved from http://www.greenexercise.org/research
Zenplanner. (2019). Fitness Instructor App. Retrieved from https://zenplanner.com/product/fitness-instructor-app/
© CQUniversity 2021
This article is from the free online

Personal Trainer's Toolkit: Build an Outdoor Fitness Business

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Our purpose is to transform access to education.

We offer a diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world. These are delivered one step at a time, and are accessible on mobile, tablet and desktop, so you can fit learning around your life.

We believe learning should be an enjoyable, social experience, so our courses offer the opportunity to discuss what you’re learning with others as you go, helping you make fresh discoveries and form new ideas.
You can unlock new opportunities with unlimited access to hundreds of online short courses for a year by subscribing to our Unlimited package. Build your knowledge with top universities and organisations.

Learn more about how FutureLearn is transforming access to education