Skip main navigation

£199.99 £139.99 for one year of Unlimited learning. Offer ends on 28 February 2023 at 23:59 (UTC). T&Cs apply

Find out more

The supervision journey

Watch this videoscribe animation, voiced by Professor Veena Rodrigues, which shows the stages through the supervision journey.
There are several models of clinical supervision.
One commonly used model, based on learning theory, suggests that within the supervision journey learners move continually through four stages of competence, progressing gradually from unconscious incompetence to conscious incompetence, conscious competence, and finally to unconscious competence.
The role of the supervisor is to enable a trainee to move through these four stages safely and with support, so that they’re learning progresses effectively until they become fully competent.

Please watch this video of the supervision journey, a model based on learning theory.

What are you views on this model? Can you relate it to your trainees’ learning?

Tell us what stage you think you are at in terms of your role as clinical supervisor.

This article is from the free online

Clinical Supervision with Confidence

Created by
FutureLearn - Learning For Life

Our purpose is to transform access to education.

We offer a diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world. These are delivered one step at a time, and are accessible on mobile, tablet and desktop, so you can fit learning around your life.

We believe learning should be an enjoyable, social experience, so our courses offer the opportunity to discuss what you’re learning with others as you go, helping you make fresh discoveries and form new ideas.
You can unlock new opportunities with unlimited access to hundreds of online short courses for a year by subscribing to our Unlimited package. Build your knowledge with top universities and organisations.

Learn more about how FutureLearn is transforming access to education