Hans Christian Andersen Centre

Hans Christian Andersen Centre


The Hans Christian Andersen Centre at the University of Southern Denmark in Odense, Denmark is the world’s leading institution within the field of Hans Christian Andersen research. This research follows three tracks: Hans Christian Andersen’s life, his works and his cultural importance. The centre collaborates closely with the municipality of Odense, Odense City Museums and the Hans Christian Andersen Foundation.

Because of the close connection and collaboration with Odense City Museums (including the Hans Christian Andersen Museum and Hans Christian Andersen’s Childhood Home), the Hans Christian Andersen Centre has unique access to the following original objects:

  • Original hand-written manuscripts and drafts
  • Letters to, from and on Hans Christian Andersen
  • Drawings, paper cuts, screens, collages and picture books
  • Inscriptions
  • Portraits of Hans Christian Andersen (paintings and photographs)
  • Translations of Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales. The collection counts 139 language versions
  • All items from Hans Christian Andersen’s last home in Nyhavn, Copenhagen: original furniture, pictures, books, bric-a-brac etc.

The mission of the centre is to

  • carry out cultural and literary research within the field of Hans Christian Andersen on an international level
  • communicate obtained knowledge about Hans Christian Andersen on relevant platforms
  • develop new approaches within cultural research to cast light on the cultural significance of Hans Christian Andersen
  • communicate knowledge about the universe of Hans Christian Andersen in collaboration with Odense City Museums
  • interact with relevant partners locally, nationally and internationally.

The Hans Christian Andersen Centre was established in 1988, and was re-structured and re-launched in 2012 with the purpose of renewing the literary and cultural approaches to Hans Christian Andersen. The centre is located in the centre of Odense in the former Odense Secular Convent for Noble Women that dates back to 1504.